Monday, May 5, 2008

Steve Winwood returns on May 5th with his eagerly anticipated new studio album ‘Nine Lives’

Steve Winwood returns on May 5th with his eagerly anticipated new studio album ‘Nine Lives’. His first studio LP since 2003’s acclaimed ‘About Time’.

Written and co-produced by Steve Winwood with Johnson Somerset- whose previous credits include Roxy Music and Duran Duran. The new album features nine arresting songs including a rousing collaboration with Eric Clapton, who plays guitar on ‘Dirty City’.

Comment on this Article

Each of the nine tracks on ‘Nine Lives’ continue the exploration of soul, rock, blues and world music that Steve Winwood is renowned for.

Amongst the many highlights on the album, ‘Fly’ is a brave and ambitious track featuring soaring powerful vocals set against a cacophony of sound.

Other highlights on the album are many and include ‘Forget About Him’, a joyous and moving six-minute journey through horns, keyboards and world instruments.

Alongside ‘Hungry Man’, ‘We’re All Looking’, and the captivating track ‘Secrets’ means the album is as consistently strong as it is diverse.

On ‘Nine Lives’ Steve Winwood turns another musical corner, showcasing his ability to still create relevant and evocative music. It gives his fans, old and new, nine new reasons to celebrate the life and music of this ageless, and still prodigious, musical treasure.

Steve and Eric Clapton played three sold out nights at Madison Square Gardens, New York in February. Steve and his band will be special guests to Tom Petty on his US tour this summer.

UK Dates to be announced shortly.

Track list:

I’m Not Drowning


Raging Sea

Dirty City

We’re All Looking

Hungry Man


At Times We Do Forget

Other Shore

No comments: